6 reasons why you should do an exchange year when you are still in highschool

PLEASE CLICK HERE TO SEE THIS POST ON MY NEW DOMAIN!

There are a lot of reasons why you should do an exchange. One – Because it´s the best experience of your life. Two – you get to know a country/culture that is completely different from your own. Three – you will make the most amazing new friends, etc etc.

The subject of this post is not whether you should do an exchange year or not, because you should. Everyone should.
The real question is, when should you do an exchange?

I did my exchange when I was 16 years old, and I have heard a lot of arguments against it. Too young, too naive,too dangerous. You will *cough* ´lose´ *cough*  a year. Yet, to be honest, now that I look back at it I couldn`t think of a better time to do an exchange year, and here is why:

6 reasons you should do an exchange year while you´re still in highschool

1. You are not losing a year

You NEVER ´lose´ a year. This is a biggest misconception there is about doing an exchange year. Sure, the year I did in Panamá did not count for my school back home, resulting in the fact that I graduated a year later than all my friends. But I haven´t regretted it for one second. As cheesy as this is going to sound, the experience you get for living in another country is not comparable to anything else. You learn a new language. You learn to be independent. You learn to adapt. You learn to survive.

The year I came back my friends were all off to college and told me what it was like to live away from their parents, how independent they were now, but I knew it was nothing in comparison to what I had learned being abroad.

Besides, highschool is honestly all about working on yourself and developing some general knowledge, and is there a better way to learn about the world than to actually explore it?

2. You are still young

You are a remarkable age when you are around 16, because while you have your own personality and you are quite aware of the things you are doing, your brain is not fully `set´ yet. Teenagers rebel, do extreme things in order to create their own identity, and what better way to discover your identity that to go to a place where people do things in a completely different way?
The things you`ll learn at this age will probably decide the way you are for the rest of your life, and a foreign exchange where you learn to accept people from a different culture, and most of all: adapt to a different environment. This is definitely one of the main reasons why you should do an exchange year while you are still in highschool!

3. It will be easier to learn a new language

The younger you are, the easier it is to learn a new language. So why wait untill college?

For those of you who haven´t been on an exchange yet: if are not from an English-speaking country and already speak english, I really recommend you go somewhere else than the US, UK, Canada or Australia. While of course these are
really nice countries, I have heard a lot of people who came back from their exchange in an English-speaking country and saw all their fellow exchange students speak Japanese, Spanish or German, they could still only speak English as a second language. Naturally, they still had the best year of their life, but I have heard many of them say that if they could choose again, they would go to a country where they could learn a new language.

4. You get to live with a host family

And this is an opportunity you will probably never get again! To get to know a culture by actually living it, like you do with a host family, is a truly unique experience that can not be compared to anything else. Sure, it`s not always easy, but it is without a doubt worth it! I see so many university exchange students that merely use their host country as a playground for their lives, yet they don´t actually try to get to know the local people or speak the local language. Living with a host family you are forced to do all these things. You will encounter things that no other expat might ever encounter, for however long they live there.

5. It shows well on your curriculum

Of course it does! First of all, you might speak another language, which is of course always a plus. Secondly, it shows you are independent and not afraid to get outside of your comfort zone.
Need to write an essay about your life and struggles for your college application? Write it about your exchange and the things you have had to overcome to adapt to your new family/country! When colleges have to select students they want someone who stands out, who has an interesting story and who is brave enough to something extraordinary. I know people who got accepted to their university immediately just because they had done an exchange year.

6. You might not get the chance again

¨Maybe when I`m in college I´ll do an exchange¨ Yeah, maybe, but I know how that works. You already have so much other stuff to do, suddenly things are getting sort of serious with your boyfriend/girlfriend, you have a job now. And once you finish college, you will not have the age or the ways to do an exchange in some kind of institution that does not involve work.

No excuses, just do it! Whenever you get the chance, grab it with both hands, then hold on to it tightly and do not let it go!

And as a bonus
7. Doing exchange year is the best decision you will make in your life. Period.

Is there any way I can make this sound less cliché? Unfortunately not. But it´s the truth.
You will make the best friends you have ever had. You will learn to appreciate everything, from family to the way things are organized in your home supermarket. You get to know yourself in a level you couldn`t possibly have imagined before. Being an exchange student you are automatically one of the most awesome people in the world. You will get amazing people skills. You will learn the most random, stupid things yet in some moment of your life you will use it again and you realize it somehow all had a purpose.

Need I say more?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

31 thoughts on “6 reasons why you should do an exchange year when you are still in highschool

  1. Amarens I love this article! Every single word of it made me “homesick”… I honestly think that it was the best decision of our lives! 🙂 Keep writing cool stuff like this!

    Like

  2. You go girl! This article is very impressive. I am on my exchange year right now in Brazil and I can totally agree with everything you just said. If they think 16 it’s a young age, well I am 15 and nailing it. I can’t describe in words what it really means to be an exchange student. I don’t think i will ever go through something like this. Totally worth it

    Like

  3. I don’t know… I have very mixed feelings about this! I did my exchange to Switzerland (through RYE) when I was 18. I had just finished high school and I was taking a gap year before I went to uni. I was still incredibly young, especially looking back now, and i think I got a lot more out of it than I would have at 15 or 16. Anecdotally, one of my best friends did an exchange to Germany, also through RYE when she was 16, and while she came back a chabged person, the pressure to ‘reconform’ back into what everyone expected of her made her lose much of the growing she had done overseas. Now, as a frequent host-sibling, I am often also quite sad when I hear that we will be getting a younger exchange student rather than an 17/18 year old. Younger students are so much more pressure for host families, who have to ‘parent’ and set more limits on the life of the student, both for thwir safety and because of the responsibility of taking in such a young person. Being more sure of your identity and what you want from the world is something that I really think helps your exchange, because it can help you set better goals and I feel like you make more progress on a journey of self-understanding than if you were only 15 or 16. This isn’t probably what you want to hear, and that’s fine. Everyone has to make the most of the opportunities that they have, for better or worse. As long as you are old enough to engage in a positive and adult manner with your host families – resolving conflict, being self aware and not being too self involved to recognise how others are feeling (hard at the best of times, almost impossible as a young hormonal teen far from home), then go for it. If you manage all those things and you can still hold onto your expanded vision of the world and it’s reality once you come home, then I think you are one of only a few. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know if I agree with you. To be honest, I would consider your exchange as still in high school because you probably still lived with your family. I am not saying ‘the younger the better’, but now I am in university I see all the exchange students, and their exchange just doesn’t have that much impact. I am not saying it’s a bad thing, it’s just that their time abroad is merely a nice anecdote to tell at a dinner party (and that anecdote will probably be more about the insane party and the super strange locals, because they never made an effort to get to know the culture) whereas my exchange year really changed me and really marked my life. Maybe it is more difficult, but I think there is a balance between the effort you have to make and what you get in return. Living with a host family teaches you things you couldn’t learn in any other way, and while you can still live with a host family in your twenties, it won’t be the same because they will probably let you more free. I think if you are doing an exchange for the right reasons, age shouldn’t matter ( if you are doing it for the wrong reasons, it also doesn’t)

      Like

      • Hey Amarens Elise,
        I totally agree with you! In the end everybody can choose for his own when is the best moment to go abroad but I also believe that the impact is so much stronger if you are younger. From a psychological point of view you are very right saying that the younger you are the less “set” is your mind. If people have lived the first 20 years of their life in a country and then move to another one, living there for the double amount of time, they will still feel much more “Dutch” or “Italian” or “Brazilian” or whatever their nationality is than a person who had the opportunity to spend a year abroad at a younger age. I am studying Intercultural (Communication) Studies and we talk a lot about that and you can actually notice a big difference between people who stayed abroad as an exchange student during high school (or people who grew up in different countries as children) and people who spent a gap year after high school or a university exchange abroad.
        It might be more difficult for younger teenagers, but it might be easier, too, precisely because you are less “set”, because you are sometimes less aware of your culture but also less closed and more open- minded 🙂

        Like

      • Thank you so much for your comment, it is really nice to hear from someone who actually studies that! May I ask you where you study this? I agree with you completely, if I look back at it I know it would have influenced me way less had I gone later, precisely because I was less ´set´. Besides I think the part of living with a family sort of forces you do do things, to adapt, whereas university students can easily get away with never leaving their room.

        Like

      • Hey, I am studying in Passau (but by saying that I’m studying Intercultural Studies I really don’t want to say I’m an expert, just that we talk a lot about that issue and that my conclusions (and some academic conclusions as well) agree with your opinion :)) but there are quite a lot of Bachelor degree’s that are about or have to do with Intercultural Communication/Studies, e.g. in Bayreuth, Frankfurt/Oder, Lüneburg, Salzburg, Mannheim, Fulda- so if you consider studying something like that, I am sure you will find something you like 🙂
        PD: Personally, I think you are right about the family part, too.

        Like

  4. Every time that I read something related to an exchange program I feel sad why? Because i applied and I got accepted to go to Germany but i couldn’t afford the program cost.

    Like

    • Actually there are lots of ways to crowdfund your exchange or get a scholarship! And you can always take into calculation how much money you would spend on living in general – food and housing. If you live with a host family you won’t have to deal with these costs. It’s usually a lot of money because you have to pay it at once, but in the end it’s only as expensive as you make it.

      Like

  5. Nice. I think I’m going to go for a gap year though, between high school and college. I’d like to do it in high school, but it just doesn’t look like it’ll work out that way. I’d prefer to graduate on time too.

    Like

    • I would consider a gap year as still being in high school, because you probably still live with your parents and haven’t had the university experience yet. And really, you should go for it! As for the ‘graduating in time’, it doesn’t matter when you do it as long as you do it. That goes both ways. Trust me in 5 years, you will hardly remember or care if you graduated in time. That being said, do it whenever you can and want to do it, but don’t let the opportunity slip away!

      Like

  6. Great post! I say: why limit yourself to only one exchange? I did 3; one in high school at 16, one at 19 trough the AFS volunteer-exchange and one at 23 (university exchange) with my now-hubby. Three unike and equally life-defining experiences that all has contributed to the person I am now: 10yrs after my last exchange.

    I will do my best to make sure my three children has the same opportunity to experience other countries this way. It must hurt to send your 16-years-old away, but for their sake it is a feeling one should oppress.

    Like

  7. I guarantee that it will be the best decision in your life you have made. It was the best experience I ever had being an exchange student from Thailand to USA. Sometimes I was kind of upset because they talked often about the racism against Asian. Eventually, I just didn’t take it so serious; I just got along with them and made fun of myself too, in order to make them felt closer to me. I learned a lot of stupid stuff that American kids did, but it was fun tho. Trust me as one of exchange student around the world, it will be your best year in your life and you will miss everything you have done incredibly

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Hoi I accidentally found your blog and to be honest i really enjoy reading it so much! I’m a thai girl doing an exchange high school student in the Netherlands(Leiden) right now. Your article made me so happy that I chose the Netherland as my exchange year. There are lots of unexpected thing that totally different from my hometown (Asian culture) Beside I unintentionally love an enchanted Leiden and people like i never expect before.
    Just feel so good that found your blog today!

    Like

  9. I totally agree! You write very nice, I like your style 🙂 I´m RYE exchange student from Finland in Mexico right now and I´m living best time of my life! ♥ I´m 17 years old and I think that is good age to me be here, I´ve changed a lot here, but a good way 🙂 And I speak Spanish! I´m so glad because of that^^ And like you said that be exchange isn´t always easy, but it´s totally worth it! I recommend it to everyone!

    Like

  10. I pretty much agree with you on everything you’ve listed! I’ve been an exchange student both during high school and university and I was actually genuinely disappointed by my university exchange. Not only did I feel like it was a waste of time because I didn’t really learn anything new (due to my studies I am obligated to spend time abroad, but let’s say the partner uni didn’t quite meet my home uni’s curricular standards), it was nothing like when back in the day I went on my high school exchange year. You don’t get to live in a local family, I shared my flat with two fellow exchange students from Colombia and Germany, we tried to meet locals but they weren’t really all that interested (another shock for me, seeing as in Chile everyone and their mothers is so curious and open-minded and it’s super easy to make friends) – and in the end I ended up hanging out only with fellow exchange students because I prefer to fulfill the stereotype of the erasmus student who didn’t make any local friends (because at least where I was I felt our local co-students were fed up with all those exchange students coming to their city) rather than sitting in my shared flat all alone and by myself for half a year.

    Anyway, the gist is this: if they have the opportunity, everyone should go on an exchange while they’re in high school, it’s a unique form of exchange and the most intensive way to get to know a different country/culture! I went to Chile in 2009/2010 with YFU and I still wouldnt wanna have missed a day of it. It’s never going to be the same if you’re going on an exchange later in your life (even though if you do I hope for your sake you’ll meet locals who are more keen on contact -.-).
    Sorry for bragging on and on, I just kept nodding my head almost during the whole article.

    Like

    • Thank you for this comment Inga! I was nodding the whole way through reading your comment 😉
      I haven´t been on a university exchange (yet) but I see them around me, and it makes me a little sad because an exchange can be such a great thing, yet I feel like it is just an excuse to party all the time. I mean, that is great, and I am sure most people who haven´t been abroad before will learn something about being independant in a new country, but it will NEVER compare to a highschool exchange.

      Like

  11. I agree that going abroad in high school is quite different than in college. I spend a year in Brazil in high school and expect my study abroad experience in college to be very different. However, it doesn’t have to be. Opportunities to live with a host family are still available and often times the only option for students studying abroad in Latin America in college.
    A reason why I think high school exchanges are truly better is because often times you are sent to places with few other exchange students so you are forced to make friends in your host country and learn the language whereas in college it is easy to make friends solely with the international students because it’s easy and there are so many. After my year in Brazil I was close to my family, fluent in Portuguese, and had many friends. Plus, because you are in high school there is not as much pressure on academics, but rather, the main pressure is on truly learning the country in the language.
    I wouldn’t have changed my year abroad for the world.

    Like

    • I agree that there are always host family experiences available BUT there is less need to adapt to the family when you are for example 25 than when you are 15 and actually part of the family. Also having lived on your own before going into a host family changes the experience. Not saying it is better to go young, but if you want to emerge into the culture, the younger the better.

      Like

Leave a comment